KidLitCon 2016 Keynote Speakers Announced!
Wednesday, June 8, 2016 at 3:39 PM
Jen Robinson in KidLitCon, KidLitosphere

The Society of Bloggers of Children’s and Young Adult Literature Announces Keynote Speakers

June 8, 2016 — The Society of Bloggers of Children’s and Young Adult Literature, known as the Kidlitosphere, announced its keynote speakers for the 2016 KidLitCon, to be held October 14 & 15 in Wichita, Kansas. Sponsored in part by longtime supporters First Second Books, an imprint of Macmillan Publishers, the annual conference is open to all those who support and champion literature for children and young adults.

Keynotes on the theme of “Gatekeepers & Keymasters” will feature two dynamic authors, Amy Sarig King, and Wichita native Clare Vanderpool.

A.S. King (shown below) is author of seven young adult novels and myriad short stories for adults; PLEASE IGNORE VERA DIETZ was named a 2011 Michael L. Printz Honor book, and ASK THE PASSENGERS won the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for young adult literature in 2012.

Clare Vanderpool is shown below. Her first novel, MOON OVER MANIFEST, won the 2011 Newbery Medal. She was the first debut author to win the Newbery Medal in thirty years. NAVIGATING EARLY was named a 2014 Michael L. Printz Honor book.

More information, including a proposal submission form, registration, and hotel information can be found at The last day to submit a proposal for a conference panel is August 1st. Early bird registration for the hotel ends September 18th, 2016.


Melissa Fox

Pam Margolis


Article originally appeared on KidLitosphere Central (
See website for complete article licensing information.